50th Anniversary Edition Of MADMAN ACROSS THE WATER Out Today

Released today (June 10th) is the 50th anniversary edition of Elton John's fourth studio album, 1971's Madman Across The Water. The Super Deluxe box set features three-CD's and one-Blu-ray disc, along with a 1971 reproduction poster and 104-page book including photos and an essay with interviews with those who helped make the album -- as well as memorabilia and artwork taken from the Rocket Archive.

There are 18 previously unreleased tracks across the Super Deluxe triple-CD/Blu-ray box set, which also contains rare, restored material from the era, piano demos of the album, and the audio of the BBC Sounds For Saturday concert, broadcast in 1972. The Blu-ray contains a 5.1 mix by Greg Penny, plus the Sounds For Saturday and his 1971 The Old Grey Whistle Test performance. The set is available as a four-LP set double-CD collection, and a single-LP limited edition remaster in blue and white-colored 180g vinyl.

Madman Across The Water was originally released on November 5th, 1971 and was the first to feature all three members of the classic, original Elton John Band -- bassist Dee Murray, drummer Nigel Olsson, and for the first time, guitarist Davey Johnstone.

Highlights on the Madman Across The Water album include the iconic title track, "Tiny Dancer," "Levon," "Indian Sunset," and "Holiday Inn."

The album peaked at Number Eight and spent a solid month in the Billboard Top 10

(from pulseofradio.com)

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content